Home > About Us > Board




Tim Davies, Chief Executive Officer

Tim was appointed Chief Executive on 1 March 2013. Tim was the Group Managing Director of Grainfarmers plc and led its successful merger with Centaur Grain Ltd to become Openfield, the largest farmer-owned grain marketing business in the UK. Tim has been a Board director of Agricultural Industries Confederation since 2003.

Tim graduated from the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne with a BSc in Agriculture.


Neil Austin, Group Finance Director

Neil joined Carr’s Milling Industries PLC in January 2013, and took over from Ron Wood as Group Finance Director on 1 May 2013. He joined the Group from PricewaterhouseCoopers, where he worked for over 15 years, becoming a Director of their Newcastle office in 2007. Whilst at PwC he advised FTSE 350 companies including multinationals on internal and external audit, risk assurance, as well as providing due diligence services.

Neil graduated from Cambridge University with an MA in Economics and Management Studies, and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.



Chris Holmes, Non-Executive Chairman

Chris Holmes joined Carr’s in January 1991 and was appointed to the Board in January 1992 and as CEO in September 1994. Previously, he held senior management positions in the agricultural division of J Bibby & Sons.


John Worby, Non-Executive Director

John joined the Board as a Non-Executive Director in April 2015; he is also the Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee. John has held a number of senior positions within FTSE 250 companies. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Fidessa plc, and Senior Independent Director of Connect Group plc. Previously, John was Finance Director of Genus plc, a role from which he retired in 2013, and Non-Executive Director of Cranswick plc for nine years until July 2014. He is a chartered accountant and a member of the Financial Reporting Review Panel.


Alistair Wannop, Non-Executive Director

Alistair Wannop has been a Non-Executive Director since September 2005. He is also a Director of English Food and Farming Partnership, of Rural Regeneration Cumbria and of Cumbria Vision. He has been County Chairman of the NFU, as well as County Milk Delegate to NFU Headquarters, and Chairman of the Minister of Agriculture’s regional advisory panel.


Ian Wood, Non-Executive Director

Ian joined the Board as a Non- Executive Director on 1 October 2015. He is the Commercial Director, International Business Development in Centrica (previously British Gas) and has held a number of positions with the Company, covering various aspects of the business including engineering, customer services, industrial and commercial marketing, and energy trading within the UK, Continental Europe and North America.


Matthew Ratcliffe, Company Secretary

Matthew joined Carr’s Group plc in November 2016 as Legal Counsel and Company Secretary. He previously worked as a solicitor specialising in contentious and non-contentious commercial work and helped develop one of South Cumbria’s leading practises. Following graduation from Durham University with Law LLB (Hons) and College of Law, Chester with a Post-graduate Diploma in Legal Practice (with distinction), he qualified in Manchester where he trained at international law firm Pinsent Masons LLP.